AT&T International Day Pass: what your trip will cost
$12 a day for one line and $6 a day for each extra line used on the same calendar day. AT&T charges each line at most 10 daily fees per bill period, and every AT&T unlimited plan already includes Mexico and Canada.
Last checked October 8, 2026 against AT&T's own pages · Sources
Check your trip's cost
Example trip1 to 30 days
One line each
RoamClean costs less for this trip
You would save $112.01
- Your line: 10 days × $12$120
One more day: AT&T +$0, RoamClean +$0. One more phone: AT&T +$60, RoamClean +$7.99.
Get the RoamClean plan for SpainThe difference: AT&T International Day Pass works with your phone number and includes unlimited talk, text and high-speed data. The RoamClean plan is 5 GB of data only, with no phone number.
- AT&T prices checked October 8, 2026 (source). They come from AT&T's own pages and are before taxes and fees. RoamClean prices are the price you pay.
On Verizon or T-Mobile? Use the full roaming vs eSIM check
How the AT&T International Day Pass works
From AT&T's own pages, checked October 8, 2026. Prices are per line, before taxes and fees.
| Daily price | AT&T International Day Pass: $12 a day per line, for each day you use the line abroad. (sources 1, 2) |
|---|---|
| What it includes | Unlimited talk, text and high-speed data. (sources 1, 2) |
| Each extra line | $6 a day for each extra line used on the same calendar day. (sources 1, 2) |
| Limit on charged days | At most 10 daily fees per line per bill period. After that, no more daily fees until the next bill period. (sources 1, 2) |
| Canada and Mexico | Every AT&T unlimited plan includes talk, text and data in Mexico and Canada. AT&T says 2G off-net data speeds may apply. (sources 1, 2, 3, 4) |
| Already included elsewhere | AT&T Premium 2.0, AT&T Elite 2.0, Unlimited Premium PL and Unlimited Elite include 20 Latin American countries, Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic and Peru among them. AT&T says coverage and data speeds vary. AT&T Elite 2.0 includes talk, text and 20 GB of data a month in 210+ destinations. After 20 GB of international data, AT&T may slow it to a maximum of 512 kbps. (sources 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) |
| When it starts | AT&T adds the International Day Pass when you use your phone in an included destination, and apps running in the background use data and trigger the daily fee. If you haven't added it, AT&T adds the International Day Pass to your smartphone when you arrive in an included destination, and sends you a text. (source) |
| Wi-Fi calls | A Wi-Fi call to anywhere other than the US starts a daily fee; Wi-Fi calls to the US don't. (source) |
| When it is billed | AT&T adds up the daily fees and charges them on your bill at the end of your billing cycle. (source) |
| Cruise ships | On 400+ cruise ships, AT&T charges $20 a day for unlimited talk and text and 500 MB of data a day at the best available speed. (source) |
The 10-day limit, with real numbers
Worked out by the same sums as the check above, from AT&T's prices and our plan prices.
Spain, 10 days, 1 line, AT&T Value 2.0 or AT&T Extra 2.0
- Your line: 10 days × $12$120
- AT&T International Day Pass, before taxes and fees$120
- RoamClean Spain 5 GB for 30 days$7.99
The eSIM costs $112.01 less for data. The Day Pass also covers calls and texts on your number. (sources 1, 2)
Japan, 14 days, 2 lines, AT&T Value 2.0 or AT&T Extra 2.0
- Line 1: 10 days × $12$120
- Line 2: 10 days × $6$60
- Days 11 to 14: AT&T charges each line for at most 10 days per bill period$0
- AT&T International Day Pass, before taxes and fees$180
- RoamClean Japan 5 GB for 30 days × 2$17.98
The eSIM costs $162.02 less for data. The Day Pass also covers calls and texts on your number. (sources 1, 2)
Already included in your AT&T plan
Where your plan already covers you, the Day Pass doesn't apply.
| Plan | Mexico and Canada | Latin America | Spain, Europe and Japan |
|---|---|---|---|
| AT&T Value 2.0 or AT&T Extra 2.0 | Mexico and Canada: Included (sources 1, 2, 3, 4) | Latin America: Day Pass, $12 a day (sources 1, 2, 3) | Spain, Europe and Japan: Day Pass, $12 a day (sources 1, 2, 3) |
| AT&T Premium 2.0 | Mexico and Canada: Included (sources 1, 2, 3, 4) | Latin America: Included (sources 1, 2) | Spain, Europe and Japan: Day Pass, $12 a day (sources 1, 2, 3) |
| AT&T Elite 2.0 | Mexico and Canada: Included (sources 1, 2, 3, 4) | Latin America: Included (sources 1, 2) | Spain, Europe and Japan: Included: 20 GB a month, then up to 512 kbps (sources 1, 2, 3) |
| Unlimited Elite or Unlimited Premium PL (older plans) | Mexico and Canada: Included (sources 1, 2, 3, 4) | Latin America: Included (sources 1, 2) | Spain, Europe and Japan: Not stated on AT&T's pages |
| Another AT&T unlimited plan | Mexico and Canada: Included (sources 1, 2, 3, 4) | Latin America: Not stated on AT&T's pages | Spain, Europe and Japan: Day Pass, $12 a day (sources 1, 2, 3) |
Latin America here means the five countries we sell plans for: Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Peru. Prepaid plans are not in this table.
When an eSIM costs less, and when it doesn't
An eSIM costs less for data on any Day Pass trip for one line
Even for one day: the Day Pass is $12 in Spain and a RoamClean Spain 1 GB plan is $3.99. The longer the trip, the bigger the gap, until the 10-day limit. (sources 1, 2)
It doesn't cost less when your plan already includes the country
Every AT&T unlimited plan includes talk, text and data in Mexico and Canada. AT&T says 2G off-net data speeds may apply. AT&T Premium 2.0, AT&T Elite 2.0, Unlimited Premium PL and Unlimited Elite include 20 Latin American countries, Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic and Peru among them. AT&T says coverage and data speeds vary. AT&T Elite 2.0 includes talk, text and 20 GB of data a month in 210+ destinations. After 20 GB of international data, AT&T may slow it to a maximum of 512 kbps. In those places the Day Pass doesn't apply and your plan costs nothing extra. (sources 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)
Small savings are still savings, and setup counts too
Four lines for one day in Costa Rica: the Day Pass is $30 and four RoamClean 1 GB eSIMs are $27.96, a saving of $2.04. The Day Pass needs no setup; each eSIM has to be installed before you leave. For a saving that small, the Day Pass can be the simpler choice. (sources 1, 2)
Using an eSIM without starting a Day Pass
Phone settings only. Set them before you land.
- Check that your phone supports eSIM and is unlocked. A carrier-locked phone can't use another company's eSIM. Check if your phone supports eSIM
- Turn data roaming off on your home line. iPhone: Settings > Cellular > tap your home line > Data Roaming off. Android: in your SIM settings, turn roaming off for your home SIM. (sources 1, 2)
- Put mobile data on the eSIM and turn data switching off. iPhone: Settings > Cellular > Cellular Data > choose the eSIM, then turn Allow Cellular Data Switching off. Google Pixel: Settings > Network & internet > SIMs: set Mobile data to the eSIM and turn Automatic data switching off. (sources 1, 2)
- Keep your home line on for texts such as bank codes. Calls you make or answer and texts you send on it can still be charged, so use calling apps over data where you can.
Why these settings matter
- AT&T adds the International Day Pass when you use your phone in an included destination, and apps running in the background use data and trigger the daily fee. (source)
Questions people ask
How much is the AT&T International Day Pass?
$12 a day for one line and $6 a day for each extra line used on the same calendar day, before taxes and fees. AT&T adds up the daily fees and charges them on your bill at the end of your billing cycle. (sources 1, 2)
Is there a monthly maximum?
Yes. AT&T says you'll never pay more than 10 daily fees per line, per bill period, for land or air travel. For one line that is at most $120 in one bill period. If a trip crosses your bill date, the limit applies in each bill period; that is our reading of AT&T's "per bill period" rule. (sources 1, 2)
Is the Day Pass charged per line?
Yes. Each line you use abroad is charged. The first line pays $12 a day and each extra line on the same account used on the same calendar day pays $6 a day. The 10-day limit applies to each line. (sources 1, 2)
When does AT&T start charging the Day Pass?
AT&T adds the International Day Pass when you use your phone in an included destination, and apps running in the background use data and trigger the daily fee. A Wi-Fi call to anywhere other than the US starts a daily fee; Wi-Fi calls to the US don't. (source)
Is the Day Pass worth it, or is an eSIM cheaper?
For data, an eSIM costs less on any Day Pass trip. The Day Pass is worth it when you need calls and texts on your AT&T number, or for a short stop where you would rather not set anything up. If your plan already includes the country, you need neither. (sources 1, 2)
Sources and dates (12)
AT&T
- AT&T: International Day Passchecked October 8, 2026
- AT&T Support: International Day Pass prices and charges (updated Mar 2, 2026)checked October 8, 2026
- AT&T: International pay-per-use rateschecked October 8, 2026
- AT&T Support: Compare AT&T unlimited 2.0 plans (updated Apr 16, 2026)checked October 8, 2026
- AT&T: Unlimited data planschecked October 8, 2026
- AT&T: Canada and Mexico roaming (Roam North America)checked October 8, 2026
- AT&T Support: International Day Pass destinations (updated Oct 7, 2026)checked October 8, 2026
- AT&T Support: Roaming in Latin America at no extra charge (updated Apr 16, 2026)checked October 8, 2026
- AT&T: Unlimited data without borderschecked October 8, 2026
- AT&T Support: AT&T Elite 2.0 international destinations (updated Apr 27, 2026)checked October 8, 2026
Apple
- Apple: Using Dual SIM with an eSIMchecked September 30, 2026
- Google: How to use dual SIMs on your Google Pixel phonechecked October 7, 2026
RoamClean is not affiliated with AT&T. AT&T prices are its published prices, before taxes and fees.